Srivaishnava Logo
Home | Books and Articles | Photos | Audio | Video | Contact | Gokulam Classes
              Ramanuja       Nummaazhwaar       Manavala
Sri Ramanuja Nammazwar Manavala Mamunigal

About the website:

This web site is a humble attempt to increase the awareness of youth on Ramanuja tradition of SriVaishnavism and the contribution of Aazhwaars and Poorvacharyas in the propogation of this great philosophy as given to us by Sri Manavala Mamunigal and for propagating the traditional srivaishnava sampradayam especially for the Telugu speaking members interested and attracted to Srivashnavism. The major works and purvacharya SriSukthis are mostly in Tamil and sanskrit. There are a few staunch Srivaishnava families who were originally from Thuppul of Kanchipuram, the famous birth place of Sri Vedanta Desikar. More than two centuries ago these families were asked by the great VAnamAmalai mutt direct establishment by great MaNavaLa MAmunikaL to go to Andhra coastal area for the propagation of Srivaishnava Sampradayam as preceptors for the various Kings and Jamindars etc. Till today, these families are following the traditions and continue to serve. However the present generation has lost the touch with Tamil langauage and are unable to enjoy the great legacy and the philosophy of our Azhwars and Acharyas. This is an attempt to rekindle the interest and provide the generation with the various inputs on our Sampradayam. It is requested that all to visit the web site and offer the suggestions for improving.

Latest Updates on 26-Oct-2020
  1. 01-Aug-2021: Uploaded the new Adhikarana Saravali document for Adhyaya 1 Pada 2,3,4 by Srimaan Ramacharyulu, Bengaluru : in Books and Articles section. Link:
  2. 01-Aug-2021: Udated the Video page and updated Gita Bhashyam links from 46 to 75 by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasa (Sheelanagar) Link:
  3. 09-May-2021: Created a new page Video in top menu and added Tiruppavai and Gita Bhashyam links. Created new page Indivudual Performances in Gokulam Classes and added
  4. 26-Oct-2020: Uploaded 20 new audio files (in Audio section) on Sribhashyam by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Moulali, Hyderabad
  5. 02-Oct-2020: Uploaded complete audio files( in Audio section) on Sribhashyam 2nd and 3rd Adhyayams - delivered by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Moulali, Hyderabad
  6. 09-Aug-2020 : New Gokulam classes pages
  7. 16-Jul-2020 : Uploaded 3 new audio files (in Audio section) on Sribhashyam by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Moulali, Hyderabad
  8. 12-Jul-2020 : Uploaded 2 new audio files (in Audio section) on Ashtasloki Slokas 5 and 6 by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Sheelanagar, Visakhapatnam
  9. 12-Jul-2020 : Uploaded 36 new audio files (in Audio section) on Sribhashyam by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Moulali, Hyderabad
  10. 03-Jun-2020 : Uploaded 1 new audio files (in Audio section) on Sribhashyam by Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu, Moulali, Hyderabad

  11. For earlier uploads Click here

   Srimaan Appalacharya Swami       Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu       Srimaan Raghunathacharya Swami   
Srimaan Appalacharya Swami Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu Srimaan Raghunathacharya Swami

Mundakopanishad-85(Posted on 02-08-2020)

Author: Srimaan Sribhashyam Srinivasacharyulu

Dear RAmAnuja DAsas and Asthikas,

In this posting we shall continue with the explanation of 2nd Mantra.

Explanation of the Mantra

A Jiva, who is part of this world, is called a SamsAri as long as he is bound by the PrakRiti. He will be making efforts to increase the desires to enjoy the worldly enjoyments and to experience them. His efforts will result some times in this life itself. If the efforts have not culminated in this life itself, the deeds which were done by him in that process, will become the reason for another life, and he takes birth in another life and he will experience those enjoyments. This cycle continues with him performing pious deeds and heinous deeds to fulfil his desire to experience these external enjoyments and taking another birth to experience the fruits of his deeds. These are the reasons for him to be born again and again for experiencing these fruits, and performing the various deeds as explained above. If one desires to avoid the miseries of living in the mother’s womb, experiencing the miseries of diseases, old age, death etc. which are the resultants of his participating in the cycle of births and deaths, he must abstain from desires to experience the worldly enjoyments. He must develop the desire to experience his Lord BhagavAn. He should learn about the nature of both Him and his own self. He should meditate and suitably propitiate the BhagavAn. Thus from the propitiation of BhagavAn, and abstinence from the desires to enjoy the worldly enjoyments, he will be relieved from the bondage of the worldly affairs and attain the moksha the ultimate release from the cycle of births and deaths and will attain the moksha in the form of being in the presence of ParamAthman in the SriVaikunTham. It is natural that he will be devoid of desires for enjoying the small and short periods of worldly enjoyments once he comes to know the nature and characteristics of BhagavAn, the reason for experiencing unending bliss in the presence of Him. The fourth line of the Mantra which runs - “ihaiva sarve pravileeyanti kAmAh” proves this point only.

With this the 2nd Mantra is concluded.

3rd Mantra

nAyamAtmA pravachanena labhyah
na medhayA na bahunA s'rutena |
yamevaisha vRiNute tena labhyah
tasyaisha AtmA vivRiNute tanoom svAm ||

Word meanings

  1. ayam AtmA = this paramAthman
  2. na labhyah = is not obtained (attained)
  3. pravachanena = by repeated uttering
  4. medhayaa na = nor by meditation and propitiation He
     (labhyah)         is attainable (obtained)
  5. bahunA s'utena = nor by listening the Vedas and Vedantas and their
     na labhyah         subsidiaries like grammar etc.
  6. eshah = This paramAthman
  7. tena labhyah = will be attainable only by such a Jiva
  8. yameva vRiNute = whichever Jiva, he chooses to bring in His audience.
  9. esha AtmA = This ParamAthman
  10. vivRiNute = will exhibit
  11. svAm tanoom = His effulgent form
  12. tasya = only to that Jiva, whom he likes and had chosen.

To continue.
In the next posting we shall continue with the explanation of this 3rd Mantra.
Srinivasa RAmAnuja DAsan.